The Picketwire Players, La Junta’s community theatre organization, concluded its 47th consecutive year of producing quality community theatre. On Saturday, Jan. 30, the Players celebrate their 2015 season during their annual awards program—the Mickie Awards. These awards are named for Picketwire’s founder: Mickie Miller.

The Mickie Awards will pay tribute to its 2015 plays:

Steel Magnolias * Directed by Brenda Erwin
Into the Woods * Directed by Tracey Salzbrenner
Christmas in New York * Directed by Suzy Sarlo

Awards include: Best Technician, Best Actress, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, and Best Director. Awards also include the play director’s choices for the June Miles Theatrical Spirit and Dedication Award for each show and the Board's selection for Volunteer of the Year.

Current Picketwire Patrons and Players who have participated in plays the last three years were eligible to vote in these categories. Ballots were mailed the end of December and received by Jan. 15.

Information about the event is listed below:

What: Picketwire Players’ Mickie Awards Where: Picketwire Theatre, 802 San Juan Avenue, La Junta, Colorado When: Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016 Time: 6 p.m. Wine and Appetizers 7 p.m. Business Meeting & Announce New Board of Directors 7:30 p.m. Awards/With a presentation of a scene from each play produced in 2015 8:45 p.m. Announce the 2016 Season of Plays

Season tickets will go on sale at the Mickies and can also be purchased by calling 384-8320 or contacting Picketwire via their web site: The cost for 2016 season tickets is $60. The price of tickets at the door amount to $66 for the season.

And the nominees are …

Best Director

Brenda Erwin – Steel Magnolias

Tracey Salzbrenner – Into the Woods

Suzy Sarlo – Christmas in New York

Best Actor

N/A, – Steel Magnolias

John Eubank, Baker – Into the Woods

Braeden Harris, Jacen – Christmas in New York

Best Actress

Dawn Pollmiller, M’Lynn – Steel Magnolias

Kelly Jo Smith, The Witch – Into the Woods

Kieran Harris, Courtney Ann – Christmas in New York

Best Supporting Actor

Tom Seaba, Announcer – Steel Magnolias

Levi Grimlund, Jack – Into the Woods

Ed Stafford, Radio City M.C. - Christmas in New York

Best Supporting Actress

Rachel Patrick, Truvy – Steel Magnolias​

Abigail Wallner, The Baker’s Wife – Into the Woods

Leslie Williams, Nanny G – Christmas in New York

Best Technician

Lena Figueroa – Steel Magnolias

Zach Zamora – Into the Woods

Brenda Erwin – Christmas in New York