The Colorado High School Activities Association has announced its 29th Hall of Fame class, a nine-member group that depicts the rich history of the association, along with providing real-life examples of what participation, coaching, leading and advocating for students can do.

Among this year's inductees is Eldon "L.D." Elarton of Lamar.

One of the state's most respected administrators, Elarton's career as a student participant, teacher, coach and administrator was steeped in Lamar. A native of the community, he played baseball, basketball and football, was student body president and an All-State participant for LHS. After college, he returned home to teach and coach, starting in 1969 and moved up the ranks, serving as teacher, assistant principal, principal, finance director and superintendent. As a coach, Elarton earned Baseball Coach of the Year honors in the Will Rogers League at Widefield High School. Once returning to Lamar, he initiated the Academic Letter Awards, hosted numerous CHSAA Music and Speech events, while the school's baseball, wrestling and girls' basketball teams won 10 state titles among them. He was active on the state and national scene through CASE and NASSP.

Other members of the 2017 class are Tricia Bader Binford, a three-sport athlete at Roaring Fork High School, Bobbi Brown-Vandenberg, a former coach at Boulder, Jenny Coalson, a three-sport athlete at Ellicott, Don Kimble, a former music teacher at Limon, Brian Richmond, a former gymnastics coach at Fort Collins, Ken Shaw, a former coach at six different schools, Joe Silva, a former wrestler at Fruita Monument and Kent Smith, a former coach at six different schools.

The Class of 2017 will be inducted during a ceremony on Jan. 24, 2018 at the Radisson Hotel-Denver Southeast. Individual tickets may be purchased for $50 each by contacting the CHSAA. The festivities get under way at 6:30 p.m. Seating is limited.