With Jeff Katofsky announcing his plan to move his team, the Orem Owlz, to Pueblo, that will give Colorado a total of three teams in the Pioneer League, a rookie affiliation.

The other two are the Grand Junction Rockies and the Colorado Springs Sky Sox.

The Sky Sox in the Pioneer League?

Last year, the Milwaukee Brewers, the Sky Sox's parent club, announced that they were going to move the current AAA Pacific Coast League team to San Antonio beginning in 2019. However, the Brewers also announced that its Pioneer League team, the Helena Brewers, will begin play in Colorado Springs also beginning in 2019.

The Pueblo Owlz, a Los Angeles Angels affiliate, are scheduled to make its move to the Steel City final in 2020.

Professional baseball has been in Colorado since 1954. The first minor league team was the Denver Bears and they played in both the now-defunct American Association and the Pacific Coast League. In 1985, the team changed its name to the Denver Zephyrs.

The team moved to New Orleans when the Colorado Rockies came into existence in 1993.

The original Sky Sox team began in 1950 and was disbanded in 1958. Baseball returned to Colorado Springs in 1988 when the Hawaii Islanders made the move to Colorado.

The Sky Sox were the Rockies' PCL affiliate until 2014. The Brewers took the franchise in 2015 when the Rockies took the Albuquerque Isotopes.

The Grand Junction Rockies, which of course are the Colorado Rockies' affiliate, came to the Western Slope from Casper, Wyoming, in 2011.

With the Owlz' move, the 2020 Pioneer League will consist of three teams in Montana — the Billings Mustangs (Cincinnati Reds), the Great Falls Voyagers (Chicago White Sox) and the Missoula Osprey (Arizona Diamondbacks), one team in Utah — the Ogden Raptors (Los Angeles Dodgers), and one in Idaho — the Idaho Falls Chukars (Kansas City Royals).