HURON, S.D. — The first go-round at the National Junior High School Finals Rodeo wrapped up with the Wednesday morning performance at the South Dakota State Fairgrounds.

Waitley Sharon of Ordway fell to 62nd place in goat tying after a 12.95-second run on Monday morning. He also competed in saddle bronc steer riding on Tuesday morning, but did not receive a score.

Sharon will have his second steer ride on Thursday evening and his second attempt in goat tying on Friday evening.

The boys' first go winners included Gus Gaillard of Morse, Texas, in bareback steer riding with 69 points and in saddle bronc steer riding with 67 points, Mason Moody of Letcher, South Dakota, in goat tying in 8.6 seconds, Shayde Harris of Searcy, Arkansas, in breakaway roping in 2.36 seconds, Caden Fitzpatrick of Polson, Montana, and Cooper Jacobs of Benjamin, Utah, in bull riding with 76 points each, Karson Ewing of Douglas, Wyoming, in chute dogging in 2.25 seconds, and Trey Adams of Junction City, Kansas, in tie-down roping in 9.98 seconds.

The girls' first-go winners included Karsyn Daniels of McKinney, Texas, in barrel racing in 15.808 seconds, Josie Connor of Iowa, Louisiana, in breakaway roping in 2.19 seconds, Cheyenne VandeStouwe of Inwood, Iowa, in goat tying in 7.13 seconds, and Emma Hulse of Snohomish, Washington, in pole bending in 20.209 seconds.

Shayde Harris of Searcy, Arkansas, and Drew Dollar of Greenbriar, Arkasnas, was the first-go team roping winners in 7.17 seconds, and Cayden Newsome of Myakka City, Florida, and Courtney Carbajal of New Smyrna Beach, Florida, won ribbon roping in 7.17 seconds.

The second go-round got under way with the Wednesday evening performance. Sharon is 73rd after Wednesday's action.

Moody remains on top of goat tying after the first performance of the second go with a total time of 17.77 seconds. Other boys' leaders after Wednesday evening include Kade Madsen of Honeyville, Utah, in bareback steer riding with 125 points, Stone Reeves of Magnolia, Mississippi, in breakaway roping in 6.16 seconds, Cole Townsend of Paris, Tennessee, in bull riding with 140 points, Seth Glass of Potter, Nebraska, in chute dogging in 4.71 seconds, Luke Dubois of Church Point, Louisiana, in tie-down roping in 22.04 seconds.

The new girls' leaders are Wylee Mitchell of Pioche, Nevada, in barrel racing in 31.796 seconds, Rylee Grace Abel of Hobbs, New Mexico, in breakaway roping in 6.24 seconds, Staheli Adams of Cedar City, Utah, in goat tying in 16.55 seconds, and Olivia Thibodeaux of Church Point, Louisiana, in pole bending in 40.787 seconds.

The team roping leaders are Clay McNichol of Okotoks, Alberta, Canada, and Coy Skocdople of Big Valley, Alberta, Canada, in 21.05. Leading in ribbon roping are Lexie McLemore of Anadarko, Oklahoma, and Kade Williams of Haskell, Oklahoma, in 14.55 seconds.

The rodeo continues with two performances today and two on Friday. The championship round is on Saturday.