Five local youth performers and one from down the road were the winners of the all-around saddles in their respective age group at the 81st Annual La Junta Kids Rodeo and Race Meet, which took place this past weekend at the Kids Rodeo grounds.

Two were repeat winners from last year. Blake Ramsey of Cheraw won the senior girls' title last year and she won it again this year. Crowley McCuistion of Sugar City took this year's senior boys' championship after winning the junior title last year.

Another winner, Waitley Sharon of Ordway, is a three-time champion. He was the tiny tot boys' winner in 2015 and the junior boys' winner in 2016. After a runner-up finish last year, Sharon regained the junior boys' all-around championship this year.

The other all-around champions were Wayttyn Wollert of Wiley in the junior girls, Rhett Dutton of La Junta in the tiny tot boys, and Jaslyn Bates of La Junta in the tiny tot girls.

The runners-up in each division were Kim's Miles Rader in the senior boys, Ordway's Ashton Elliott in the senior girls, Ordway's Trave Sharon, Waitley's brother, in the junior boys, Colorado Springs' Savannah Roberts in the junior girls, Elbert's Wesley Lammers in the tiny tot boys, and Genoa's Jira Kissel in the tiny tot girls.

McCuistion was also the senior boys' jockey champ and he won two of the three races on Sunday. He won the 3/8-mile race and the 3-horse relay, and he was third in the 220-yard race. In the arena, McCuistion won the bull riding competition.

Wyatt Wollert of Wiley was the senior boys' arena champion.

Rader was the winner of the ranch bronc riding championship, an event which was new this year replacing the saddle bronc riding. Jack Hanratty of Avondale won calf roping and Riley Rodewald of Umatilla, Florida, won chute doggin.

Creede Guardomondo of Avondale and Cisco Padilla of Penrose won senior team roping.

The other senior boys' race, the 220-yard race, was won by Flynn Smith of Kim.

Bianca O'Bryan of Lamar was the senior girls' arena champion and Pueblo's Sage Garcia was the senior girls' jockey champion.

Ramsey was also the winners of the senior girls' pole bending, Elliott won goat tying and barrel racing, and Kodey Hoss of Cheraw won breakaway roping.

On the track, Garcia win the 3/8-mile race, Hailey Davidson of Las Animas won the 14-hand race, and Aleeyah Roberts of Colorado Springs won the 220-yard race.

Waitley Sharon was also the junior boys' arena champion and Jack Kissel of Genoa was the junior boys' jockey champion.

Waitley Sharon also won the pole bending, goat tying and steer riding championships. Garrett Eaks of Pueblo West won the flag race and Byars Brown of Ordway won breakaway roping.

Kissel also won the 220-yard race and the 3/8-mile race, and Waitley Sharon also won the small pony race.

Wayttyn Wollert also won the junior girls' arena championship and Cheraw's Dray hall won the junior girls' jockey championship.

Wollert took the goat tying championship, Hall won the barrel race, and Emma Magee of Byers won breakaway roping.

In the junior girls' races, Dawsen Kouba of Pueblo won the small pony race, Savannah Roberts won the 220-yard race, and Hall won the 3/8-mile race.

Byars Brown and Wayttyn Wollert won the junior dally ribbon roping championship.

Savannah Roberts was the junior girls' pole bending and flag race champion.

Dutton and Bates also won the tiny tots arena championship.

The tiny tot boys event winners were Dutton in the flag race, Maverick Barrett of La Junta in pole bending and barrel racing, and Stockton Sharon of Ordway in goat tying.

Maverick Barrett also won the tiny tot boys' Shetland Pony race and Bristyl Barrett won the tiny tots girls Shetland Pony race..

Bates also won pole bending and the flag race. Jenna Schier of Wild Horse won goat tying and Lexi Draper of La Junta won the barrel race.

The sportsmanship awards were presented to Dante Gumke of Las Animas (senior boys), Haley Hall of Model (senior girls), Blevyns Brown of Ordway (junior boys), Kallie Yoder of Karval (junior girls), Trey Draper of Wetmore (tiny tot boys) and Mazie Noe of Hugo (tiny tot girls).

Hugo's Spencer Mosher was the hardship cowboy and Brighton's Aponi DeChant was the hard luck cowgirl.