Five Arkansas Valley wrestlers will compete for individual state championships following Friday's action at the Pepsi Center.

Two of them are defending state champions in La Junta's Isaiah Gamez and Fowler's Seth McFall. Dillon Jaramillo, who won the state championship in 2017, will also be looking at his second title.

Gamez (Class 3A, 120)got to the final by defeating Grand Valley's A.J. Serna 18-3 in the quarterfinals and pinning Berthoud's Colton Williams in 3:04.

McFall (Class 2A, 106) defeated Cedaredge's Lane Hunsberger in 1:34, and he bested Wiggins' Marc Barkdoll in the semifinals 10-4.

Jaramillo (Class 2A, 120)defeated John Mall's Travis Vialpando 8-5 in the quarterfinals, and then he defeated Custer County's Dalton Wommack 13-2.

Also going for state title are Rocky Ford's Jesse Tapia (Class 2A, 195) and County Line's Jayce Bauer (Class 2A, 220).

Tapia defeated Meeker's James Amick 13-11 and Lyons' Karson Bean 4-3.

Bauer scored wins over Sedgwick/Fleming's Andrew Davis in 3:39, and Fowler's J.J. Horn in 2:34.

In addition to Horn, five other locals advanced to semifinal action, but were defeated.

All were in Class 2A and the list includes Rocky Ford's Santino Mendoza (138), Crowley County's Jared Bauer (145), Crowley County's Adam Schultz (152), Fowler's Dylan Palomino (152), and County Line's Dawson Roesch (182).

Class 3A

La Junta

Two other La Junta wrestlers are still alive in Benny Austin Gonzales (182) and Mitchell Peabody (195).

Benny Diego Gonzales (106), Brandon Nelson (126),Wyatt Hoeppner (170) and Ryan Metzger (220) have all been eliminated.

Class 2A

County Line

Bauer and Roesch are the only two County Line wrestlers still alive.

Jonathon Burbank (132), Aiden Michael (138), Zach Fowler (160), A.J. Wilk (170) and Chase Stolzenberger (285) have all been eliminated.

Crowley County

Three Crowley County wrestlers - Tanner Howells (138), Jorge Valdez (170) and Lane Walter (220) are still active in the consolation bracket.

Tach Brewer (126), Zach Auchterlonie (160), Jaden Harris (182) and Jacob Karle (285) were all eliminated.


In addition to McFall and Horn, Fernando Salazar (113) is still alive in the consolation bracket.

David Salazar (138) and Orin Carnes (170) have been eliminated.

Las Animas

Las Animas' sole representative, Jacob Lucero (106) was eliminated in the second round of consolation.

Rocky Ford

Four other Meloneers, Michael Maldonado (113), Jadon Baldonado (152), Isiah Garcia (160) and Simon Apodaca (220) are still active in the consolation bracket.

David Duran (106), Quinton Venard (126), Joziah Maestas (132), David Medina (145) and Peyton Froman (285) were all eliminated.


Three of Swink's wrestlers are still in action in Michael Romero (113), Adam Nolte (132) and Kaleb Fisher (152).

Matthew Mendoza (145) was eliminated.

The tournament resumes Saturday at 10 a.m. with the third round of consolation, followed by the consolation semifinals, fifth place matches and third place matches.

The Parade of Champions is at 6:30 p.m., followed by ther championship matches.